Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Our best intentions : a novel  Cover Image Book Book

Our best intentions : a novel / Vibhuti Jain.

Jain, Vibhuti, (author.).

Summary:

"An immigrant family gets caught in the middle of a criminal investigation in this pulsating debut, perfect for readers of Everything I Never Told You and Ask Again, Yes"-- Provided by publisher.
Babur "Bobby" Singh, single parent and owner of fledging Uber business "Move with Bobby," remains ever hopeful about ascending the ladder of American success. He lives in an affluent suburb of New York with his daughter Angie, an introverted teenager who is uncomfortable in her own skin unless she's swimming. During summer break, Angie is walking home after training at the high school pool when she finds Henry McCleary, a classmate from a wealthy, prominent family, stabbed and bleeding on the football field. The police immediately focus their investigation on Chiara Thompkins, a runaway Black girl who disappears after the stabbing and--it's later discovered--wasn't properly enrolled in the public high school. The incident sends shock waves through the community and reveals jarring truths about the lengths to which families will go to protect themselves. As the town fractures, Angie must navigate conflicting narratives and wrestle with her own moral culpability. Meanwhile, Babur's painstaking efforts to shield Angie and protect his hard-earned efforts to assimilate overshadow his ability to see right from wrong.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780063278783
  • ISBN: 0063278782
  • Physical Description: 339 pages ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2023]
Subject: High school students > Fiction.
Fathers and daughters > Fiction.
East Indian Americans > Fiction.
Assault and battery > Fiction.
Genre: Detective and mystery fiction.
Novels.

Available copies

  • 3 of 4 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at North Kansas City.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 4 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
North Kansas City Public Library FICTION JAIN 2023 (Text) 0001012507841 Fiction New Available -


Additional Resources