Record Details



Love in the big city : a novel / Sang Young Park ; translated from the Korean by Anton Hur.

Additional Content For This Title

Available copies

  • 2 of 5 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at North Kansas City.

Current holds

0 current holds with 5 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
North Kansas City Public Library FICTION PARK 2021 (Text) 0001002390092 Fiction New Available -

Record details

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"Love in the Big City is the English-language debut of Sang Young Park, one of Korea's most exciting young writers. A runaway bestseller, the novel hit the top five lists of all the major bookstores and went into nine printings. Love in the Big City is an energetic, joyful, and moving novel that depicts both the glittering nighttime world of Seoul and the bleary-eyed morning-after. Young is a cynical yet fun-loving Korean student who pinballs from home to class to the beds of recent Tinder matches. He and Jaehee, his female best friend and roommate, frequent nearby bars where they push away their anxieties about their love lives, families, and money with rounds of soju and ice-cold Marlboro Reds that they keep in their freezer. Yet over time, even Jaehee leaves Young to settle down, leaving him alone to care for his ailing mother and to find companionship in his relationships with a series of men, including one whose handsomeness is matched by his coldness, and another who might end up being the great love of his life. A brilliantly written novel filled with humor and emotion, Love in the Big City is an exploration of millennial loneliness as well as the joys of queer life, that should appeal to readers of Sayaka Murata, Han Kang, and Cho Nam-Joo"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Seoul (Korea) > Fiction.
Genre: Gay fiction.

Additional Resources