Record Details


Available copies

  • 7 of 26 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at North Kansas City.

Current holds

3 current holds with 26 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
North Kansas City Public Library FICTION GRAFF 2021 (Text) 0001002439501 Fiction New Checked out 05/26/2021

Record details

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"An instant classic, for fans of Huckleberry Finn, Peace Like a River, and Jim the Boy: when two hardscrabble young boys think they've committed a crime, they flee into the Northwoods of Wisconsin. Will the adults trying to find and protect them reach them before it's too late?"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Forests and forestry > Fiction.
Runaway children > Fiction.
Wisconsin > Fiction.

Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 9780063031906
Raft of Stars : A Novel
Raft of Stars : A Novel
by Graff, Andrew J.
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

Raft of Stars : A Novel


"A rousing adventure yarn full of danger and heart and humor." --Richard Russo An instant classic for fans of Jane Smiley and Kitchens of the Great Midwest: when two hardscrabble young boys think they've committed a crime, they flee into the Northwoods of Wisconsin. Will the adults trying to find and protect them reach them before it's too late? It's the summer of 1994 in Claypot, Wisconsin, and the lives of ten-year-old Fischer "Fish" Branson and Dale "Bread" Breadwin are shaped by the two fathers they don't talk about. One night, tired of seeing his best friend bruised and terrorized by his no-good dad, Fish takes action. A gunshot rings out and the two boys flee the scene, believing themselves murderers. They head for the woods, where they find their way onto a raft, but the natural terrors of Ironsforge gorge threaten to overwhelm them. Four adults track them into the forest, each one on a journey of his or her own. Fish's mother Miranda, a wise woman full of fierce faith; his granddad, Teddy, who knows the woods like the back of his hand; Tiffany, a purple-haired gas station attendant and poet looking for connection; and Sheriff Cal, who's having doubts about a life in law enforcement. The adults track the boys toward the novel's heart-pounding climax on the edge of the gorge and a conclusion that beautifully makes manifest the grace these characters find in the wilderness and one another. This timeless story of loss, hope, and adventure runs like the river itself amid the vividly rendered landscape of the Upper Midwest.

Additional Resources